Hall of Fame of Australian Wines 2010








 CULLEN – 2007 Cullen, Diana Madeline, Margaret River


DE BORTOLI – 2005 De Bortoli, Reserve Chardonnay, Yarra Valley


FOX GORDON – 2008 Fox Gordon, Eight Uncles Shiraz, Barossa Valley


HARDY’S – 2006 Hardy’s, Eileen Hardy Chardonnay


JACOB’S CREEK – 2009 Jacob’s Creek, Steingarten Riesling, Barossa


KNAPPSTEIN – 2009 Knappstein, Ackland Vineyard Riesling, Clare Valley


MCWILLIAM’S – 2004 McWilliam’s, 1877 Cabernet / Shiraz


MITOLO – 2006 Mitolo, GAM Shiraz, McLaren Vale


PENFOLDS – 2006 Penfolds, St. Henri Shiraz


PETER LEHMANN – 2004 Peter Lehmann, Stonewell Shiraz, Barossa Valley


ST. HALLETT – 2006 St. Hallett, Old Block Shiraz, Barossa Valley


THE LANE VINEYARD – 2009 The Lane, RG Chardonnay, Adelaide Hills


TYRRELL’S – 2003 Tyrrell’s, Vat 1 Semillon, Hunter Valley


WIRRA WIRRA – 2007 Wirra Wirra, RSW Shiraz, McLaren Vale


YALUMBA – 2008 The Virgilius, Eden Valley Viognier


These fifteen magnificent producers have had one or more wines in every 100 Best Australian Wines list since this initiative’s inception in 2004.  They are the inaugural members of my Hall of Fame.  The wines on show this evening have been chosen by the producers themselves and they will be used as the vanguard of my continued push to celebrate and educate the world about fine Australian wine.  This launch event is not a tasting as such – these wines are to be savoured, swallowed, debated and hopefully adored.  They reflect what is exciting, engaging, passionate and essential about each of these wineries and they also show why these committed companies have gained a place in the very highest echelons of the world of wine.




      Matthew Jukes 18th May 2010